What Governors do

 What are governors responsible for? 

The governing body is responsible for three main areas:

  • the strategic direction of the school;
  • the accountability of the school to its stakeholders;
  • monitoring and evaluating the quality of the school’s provision.

It has a number of statutory responsibilities, most of them falling within one of these three areas. In particular, it is responsible for supporting the school in providing a learning and teaching environment that safeguards children, promotes their well-being and encourages high expectation and achievement, as well as for setting the school’s statutory policies, and monitoring them in operation.

The governing body works at all times in close collaboration with the headteacher, who is himself a governor of the school. He is responsible and accountable to the governing body, for the day-to-day management of the school and all operational matters. He obtains approval from the governing body for matters of school policy.

 At present, the full governing body meets a number of times in the school year:

  • in September, to elect its chair and vice-chair, plan its work for the year, and receive updates;
  • at least monthly during term time
The Governing Body has moved to a committee-less structure with each meeting having a particular focus.

At present, each governor takes an interest in at least one area of the school’s work such as special educational needs and disabilities; early years, equality and extended services and community cohesion.

The clerk to the governing body arranges (in conjunction with the headteacher and the relevant chair) and publishes the agendas for meetings of the governing body and all its committees, and prepares and circulates minutes of all meetings. They also circulates training opportunities for governors, and advises governors on legal and procedural matters.

New governors are elected for a four-year period; they are given a mentor and an induction programme, and attend training specially arranged for new governors.